What I am hoping for in 2013!


By: Professor Randy Ataideduck dynasty

In my previous blog post, I wrote that don’t make resolutions at the New Year. In fact, I have found that as the years have passed. New Years is kind of a “semi-holiday” not really to the level of Thanksgiving or Christmas, not quite as low as President’s Day, but somewhat in between. Maybe this explains why when the “ball drops” in New York I consider that is close enough for us Californians to hoist my Martinelli cider and call it a night.

However, if you do want to read resolutions by some famous people, here is a real treat: http://www.brainpickings.org/index.php/2013/01/01/four-famous-new-years-resolution-lists-jonathan-swift-susan-sontag-marilyn-monroe-woody-guthrie/ There is some great reading here, and I especially liked the austere yet touching ones by famed singer Woody Guthrie.

For the moment, here are some things I hope to see and hear MORE of in 2013:

 Duck Dynasty
If you have seen it, you know what I am talking about. If you have missed it, find it on A & E and sit back and enjoy. Mountain Man, Uncle Si, Phil and even the grandkids will entertain and touch you.

 Admiring the “Best of Class”
I frequently tell my students to “hang out with smart people.” Reading, listening or watching someone at the top of their game is inspiring. (Examples: Daniel Day Lewis in the film Lincoln, Winston Churchill in The Last Lion, Dr. Ivan Filby in PLNU Chapel, etc.)

 Using Flipboard
If you have a tablet you need to download this app. Flipboard provides a great value creation moment: dropping print newspapers and magazines, capacity to aggregate news feeds and sites of interest, and  incredibly important to someone like me who thinks Tetris is still an amazing video game,  simple to use, modify and update. Did I say it was free as well?

 People and positions I disagree with
With the political polarization of our country and lost opportunities to fix difficult problems at all levels, I think we need to stop listening so much to those who hold the same views we hold and listen to others more. Perhaps in doing so we can find some solutions. We might as well pursue “Plan B” because “Plan A” hasn’t done too much for us lately.

 Be more hopeful
I was speaking on Skype the other day with friends from Portugal, listening to the conditions facing them, and it reminded me that things like high taxes, regulations and bureaucracies are relative and not eternal. Keeping my eyes on things beyond my current reality is important.

I sincerely wish each of you a great new year and I hope there are many good things you are looking forward to in 2013. Ready or not here we come!

“duck-dynasty”.2012.widgetware.January 30, 2013

Leave a Reply

