What I’m ready to leave in 2012 and hoping for in 2013.


By: Professor Randy Ataide

table_dogNow that the New Year has dawned, the holiday break is over, and Congress and the White House have only partially succeeded in wrecking the country, it seems an appropriate time to look ahead to 2013. As I don’t normally make resolutions, as an alternative I would like to share some of the things I’d like to leave in 2012 and hoping for in 2013.

First, here is what I hope we see and hear LESS of in 2013:
The “royal pregnancy”
While I love babies, is the world really “holding its breath” during the Kate Middleton pregnancy? Uggh!

The “fiscal cliff”
Let’s all take a vow to give it a rest. Besides, we already went over the cliff and smashed into the rocks. But we were able to play our iPod really loud on the way down.

“Honey Boo-Boo”
You know the awful feeling when someone tells you about something you really didn’t want to know about? Yeah, that was me during the holidays when my kid’s turned this on the TV. (Thanks so much, son.)

“The 1%”
Do we really want to become a country of class warfare? OK, so I worked hard, took financial and professional risks, built some companies, employed a bunch of people, paid my taxes and then sold the company. And then paid some more taxes. And then some more. (It’s called California.) Does anyone remember the child’s tale of “The Golden Goose”?

The Navy Seals
At the risk of being misunderstood, I would offer that I think it better for all of us, and far worse for our enemies, if we talk less about the Seals. We don’t need to risk them, their lives, their families, and the unique training and mission of the Seals through stylized “based on a true story” films. Let’s give it a rest.

Dogs
OK, before I get hate mail, I love dogs but I don’t like dogs at my dinner table. Worried about texting and driving? What about loose dogs on people’s laps in a moving car or at a nice restaurant? Am I the only person this bothers? Dogs are cool, they are loyal, and probably have some amazing bonding relationship with humans…but they are not people!

OK, for some things to hear MORE of in 2013:
Stay tuned, because there are some good things, people, trends and issues being discussed and I will share some of my favorites in a follow up post in a few days. What good things are you looking forward to in 2013?

But for now, Happy New Year! Now get that dog off your lap and put the People magazine down!

Table_dog.2008.kingpupdogwalkers.January 30, 2013

2 responses to “What I’m ready to leave in 2012 and hoping for in 2013.

  1. Randy –

    I was at the IFMA luncheon today and really enjoyed your presentation re. forecasting the economic climate for 2013. Is there a way to get a link to your presentation slides or a simliar set of slides?

    Thanks.

    Bob Wiley

  2. Yes. I gave the presentation to them and they promised to post it soon. If not, send me an email and I will forward it! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

